March 2017

Ides of March

IMG_1179

Here I am once more, looking back on a month that has come and gone. It is already a few days into April and I still haven’t figured out where February has snuck off to.

Again, I did not post as frequently as I had planned, but at least I am being consistent in that. In my defense I was more than a little preoccupied with living and enjoying what the warm winds, longer days, and temperamental weather carried in.

Even with the time change the light continues to paint the wide Wyoming sky and sage sprinkled land with breath taking sunrises and sunsets. The changing colors and scenery make me look forward to the views on my daily commute to and from work.

IMG_1509.jpg

The morning sun brightens the landscape and highlights the beauty in the still frozen and distant high country.  Early in the morning, when I round a bend and the warm golden glow slips through the window, it seriously warms my soul and reminds me how lucky I am to live where I do.

IMG_7083

Winter’s blanket of snow recedes, making way for fresh green grasses and an abundance of wild things to watch along the road.

IMG_1213.jpg

White melts away, and as the new green grass’ emerge, so does the wildlife, spreading across the landscape.

IMG_1241.jpg

Jim and I spent a day at the property, early in the month. As always it was beautiful, rejuvenating and much longed for after a long winter.  The treasures that are collected there, run much deeper than those that you can hold in your hand.

Another March weekend was spent, with the Wyoming migration initiative and the Wyoming Game and Fish, helping to trap and collar mule deer. An unforgettable weekend. I am so very humbled and thankful that I was allowed to participate.

IMG_1399.jpg

IMG_1270

I was able to wrap up the month by hiking in to a cabin under a moonless night where I spent a very quiet evening in front of the wood stove, with my old dog and a good book.

The next day the snow began to fall and by the time my friends arrived around 3:00P.M.  there was a good 6 to 8 inches of perfect snowman snow. That night the cabin was filled with laughter, child noise and hot cocoa with whip cream 😉 ! Quite the contrast from the peaceful night before, but still beautiful and so very needed.

IMG_1555

IMG_1604

IMG_1654

IMG_1571

Alone on a quiet mountain side, I welcomed in the Spring Equinox.   I am looking  forward to Spring weather, new life, and whatever this next season has in store.

IMG_1539

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑